Appraisal Standards and Appraiser Qualification Criteria

In 1989, the U.S. Congress enacted the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act (FIRREA), which authorized The Appraisal Foundation (Foundation) as the source of appraisal standards and appraiser qualifications.

The Appraisal Standards Board (ASB) sets the minimum standards, known as the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP). 

The Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) establishes minimum qualifications, known as the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria. Additionally, the AQB has established voluntary Personal Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria.  Foundation Sponsors must meet the Personal Property Criteria at a minimum. 

To read more about the appraisal standards and qualifications, as well as ancillary programs that fall under these broad categories, please visit the following links. 

Appraisal Standards
Qualification Criteria
Exposure Drafts
USPAP Courses
USPAP Instructor Program